Seminar for Composers and Instrumentalists with Michael Jarrell

Seminar for Composers and Instrumentalists

Michael Jarrell

We shall inform you of your new course dates for 2021.

The registration is not yet binding.

Target Groups: composer, musicians, listeners

Languages: English, German, French

Course location: Chesa da Cultura, Via Dimlej 44, CH-7500 St. Moritz

Seminar for Composers and Instrumentalists with Michael Jarrell
The seminar focuses on the comprehensive musical scope of Michael Jarrell’s music and his extensive pedagogical experience. It addresses composers who wish to present their works (in group or individual lessons) and performers (individuals or ensembles) who wish to get to know Michael Jarrell’s music and be introduced to the world of New Music. The works dealt with in the seminar will performed in the final concert on (new dates for 2021 later). Michael Jarrell will be at Chesa da Cultura as Composer-in-Residence throughout the entire seminar, which will open on (new dates for 2021 later), with a dinner attended by all participants.

With the pianist Mathilde Hoursiangou from Phase Ensemble Vienna, with the cellist Martina Schucan and with the clarinettist Ernesto Molinari from Collegium Novum Zurich, Michael Jarrell supports three outstanding interpreters of his music, who will perform a selection of his works in the final concert and teach interested participants during the master class.

Michael Jarrell was born in Geneva in 1958. He studied at the Geneva Conservatoire de Musique with Éric Gaudibert and in several master classes in the U.S. (Tanglewood, 1979). Michael Jarrell completed his education with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg University of Music. Between 1986 and 1988, Michael Jarrell was a scholarship student at the Cité des Arts in Paris and a participant in an informatics course at Ircam. 1988/89 he was a scholarship student at Villa Medici in Rome and, until 1990, a member of the Istituto Svizzero di Roma. Since 1993, Michael Jarrell has been Professor of Composition at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. Since 2004, he has also been teaching Composition at the Conservatoire de Musique in Geneva.
Michael Jarrell is famous for his distinctive temporary style. Since 1982, his works have received numerous awards: Prix Acanthes (1983), Beethoven Prize of the City of Bonn (1986), Marescotti (1986), Gaudeamus and Henriette Renié (1988), and the Siemens Promotion Prize (1990). As Composer-in-Residence, he was invited by the local orchestra to Lyon from October 1991 till 1993 and, later, to Lucerne Festival (1996). In 2000, he was honoured by the Musica nova Helsinki festival. In 2001, he received a commission from the Salzburg Festival for a piano concerto entitled Abschied [Farewell]. In the same year, Michael Jarrell became Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres. Un temps de silence was premiered in 2007 in Geneva by Emmanuel Pahud and the Orchestra de la Suisse Romande conducted by Heinz Holliger. In 2010, he was awarded the Music Prize of the City of Vienna. In 2016, Michael Jarrell composed Aquateinte, Concerto for oboe and orchestra, which was first performed with François Leleux in Frankfurt am Main, in Salt Lake City, Monte Carlo, and Bern. The same is true of his Des nuages et des brouillards [Clouds and mists], Concerto for violin and orchestra; they were premiered with Ilya Gringolts in Lausanne and Hong Kong and Emergences-Résurgences (viola and orchestra) for Tabea Zimmermann in Vienna, Strasbourg, Geneva, and Berlin. In 2017, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra performed his concerto for flute… Un temps de silence…, which was explicitly composed for Emmanuel Pahud and the Berlin Scharoun Ensemble Berlin. The new opera, Bérénice, adapted from Jean Racine (a commission by the Opéra National de Paris) was created in 2018 in Paris in collaboration with Barbara Hannigan (Bérénice) and Bo Skovhus (Titus). His chamber opera, Cassandre, first performed in Paris in 1994, is internationally performed and has been translated into seven languages